Skip to main content

How do I close my account?

I'm a Tutor Article! Learn how to close your MyTutor account, what happens after your account is closed, and when it can be reopened.

How do I close my account?

To close your MyTutor account, contact our Support team through Live Chat or email.

Live Chat is the quickest way to request an account closure.

When you contact us, we'll ask you to confirm the following details:

  • your full name

  • the email address associated with your MyTutor account

  • your phone number (if applicable)

Please note that if you close your account, any outstanding DBS charges must still be paid, as the DBS check has already been completed on your behalf.

Can I have my personal data deleted?

Yes. If you'd like us to permanently delete your personal data as well as close your account, please let us know when you contact us.

Deleting your personal data means we'll permanently remove your account and personal information from our systems.

Once your personal data has been deleted, your account cannot be reopened.

If you ask us to close your account and delete your personal data, we'll complete your request within 30 days.

What happens after my account is closed?

Once your account has been closed:

  • You will not be able to log in to your account

  • you will not be able to make bookings

  • you will not be able to view or send messages

  • your tutor profile will no longer be visible on the platform

Your account can usually be reopened unless you've also requested that your personal data is deleted.

You may still receive email updates after your account has been closed. If you no longer wish to receive these, select Unsubscribe at the bottom of any MyTutor email.

What if I don't want to close my account?

If you do not want to close your account but need to take a break from tutoring or stop receiving new students temporarily, you can hide your profile instead.

This can be useful if you're unavailable for a period, such as during an internship or while travelling.

To hide your profile:

  1. Click the dropdown menu under your profile image.

  2. Select Unavailable.

You can make your profile available again whenever you're ready to start tutoring.

Did this answer your question?